Missouri drug possession laws are some of the strictest in the United States. If you are caught by authorities with drugs on your person or car, you may be surprised how high the stakes are in this state. In some states, you are allowed to carry a certain amount, or may only face small penalties. In the sate of Missouri, no matter the amount of illegal drugs you carry, you will face a charge.
What are the Missouri Drug Possession Laws?
In Missouri, even simple possession charges are felony level drug offenses. If you have any drug other than marijuana on your person or vehicle, you will face a Class C Felony. This type of felony can mean a 7-year prison sentence and/or $5,000 in fines.
What are the Missouri Marijuana Possession Laws?
Marijuana is treated a little differently, but it still classifies as a criminal offense if you are caught carrying. Your charge is strictly based on the amount that you have in your possession.
- If you have 35 grams or less, you will face a misdemeanor charge carrying up to one year in jail and $1,000 in fines.
- If you have more than 35 grams, you will face felony charges.
- Up to 30 kg could mean up to 7 years in prison.
Criminal Defense for a Missouri Drug Possession Charge
Even though the laws are strict, your situation is not helpless. A defense lawyer can protect your rights in court and do everything they can to lower your sentence, fines, or eliminate the crime from your record.
If there is any indication that your rights were violated during arrest or at the time of the search, your attorney can motion the court to suppress the evidence against you and dismiss the case.
To understand your options, discuss your case with a local defense lawyer. Contact us to speak with a Missouri criminal defense attorney and get a free consultation.