In a recent blog post, we discussed how to prevent drinking and driving. Drinking and driving is one of the most highly known reasons for crashes is alcohol-impaired driving. But, what if you have a charge for a Missouri DUI? Prevention can help you not drink and drive or get charged again, but you also need to address your current case.
The penalties for DUI in Missouri can be pretty steep. They include potentially losing your license and expensive fines. Should you find yourself with a charge here are a few things to know.
What to do if you get pulled over for a Missouri DUI?
A Missouri DUI charge can be life changing and scary, but we can help you along the way. Here are the basic tips of what to do if you get pulled over.
- Pull over as soon as possible. As soon as possible means as soon as it is safe. Do not stop if it is a dangerous spot, going to harm other drivers, or you are not comfortable in the area. Slow down and use your blinker to show the police officer you are aware you are getting pulled over. Stop in a safe place, turn off the engine and if it’s dark turn on your car dome light so the police officer can see you.
- Never leave the car, unless the officer advises you to do so. Don’t get out of the car at your own will talk to the police.
- Remember that many police cars have video cameras and you may record. Stay calm, keep your hands to yourself and follow instructions.
- Keep your license and registration at hand. Not having your documentation may result in more charges. Even not having your drivers license on you can lead to a few points (2 in Missouri) on your record.
- Be courteous and respectful to the officer. But, remember it is your right to remain silent. Never lie to the police, but bear in mind that you do not have to answer their questions without a lawyer present.
- Consult an attorney. As soon as you find yourself in trouble, it;s best to contact a DUI attorney. An attorney can help navigate the legal system for you and sometimes drop your charges lower or all together.
Missouri DUI Consequences:
You could end up facing:
– A fine up to $500
– Up to 6 months in jail for a first offense
– A driver’s license suspension of 1 year depending on if you submitted to a chemical breath test.
– Increased insurance rate or forced to obtain high-risk SR-22 insurance
– Attend SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program)
– Equip your vehicle with an ignition interlock device
– If convicted for a 3rd driving while intoxicated (DWI), a potential felony
Contact a Missouri DUI Lawyer
Don’t risk the consequences of a Missouri DUI charge. Schedule a consultation with the experienced attorneys at Chassaniol & Marty to put our nearly 60 years of experience to work defending you. Call 636-486-4861 today. Time is critical, and immediate legal advice is needed. Legal actions need to take place within days, sometimes before you are even aware of a court date.